Brandtree

SC Johnson: brands it owns and its ownership tree

SC Johnson is a family-owned company headquartered in Racine, Wisconsin, United States that owns 8 consumer brands, and has 3 recorded transactions.[1]

SC Johnson has been owned and run by five generations of the Johnson family since 1886, when it began selling parquet flooring and then the wax to care for it. It publishes no financial statements.

Company facts

Legal name
S. C. Johnson & Son, Inc.
Type
family-owned company · see all family-owned company owners
Headquarters
🇺🇸 Racine, Wisconsin, United States
Founded
1886
Wikidata
Q1120650
Website
www.scjohnson.com
Last verified
· 4 sources

SC Johnson in numbers

Everything SC Johnson owns

2026

Controlling ownership as of . Brands grouped under the entity that owns them; large groups are collapsed.

Everything SC Johnson owns Tree of 8 brands under SC Johnson. SC Johnson Glade Method Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day OFF! Pledge Raid Windex Ziploc

Full-screen interactive tree → · Download as infographic

Brand portfolio by category

Full portfolio, 8 brands, with sources → · Competitors by shared categories →

Acquisitions by SC Johnson

Acquisition closed

SC Johnson acquires Method

SC Johnson agreed in September 2017 to buy Method and Ecover from People Against Dirty, and completed the purchase in 2018 after clearing regulators in the United States, the United Kingdom and Germany. The company said at the time that, being privately held, it does not disclose financial details of its transactions, and it never has. Only the year of completion is recorded here.

Value
Undisclosed
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

SC Johnson acquires Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day

SC Johnson acquired The Caldrea Company, which brought the Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day and Caldrea brands into a portfolio otherwise built on mass-market household names. SC Johnson is privately held and does not disclose the terms of its transactions. Only the year is recorded here.

Value
Undisclosed
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

SC Johnson acquires Ziploc

S.C. Johnson & Son bought the DowBrands consumer products business from Dow Chemical in January 1998 for $1.2 billion, a sale on which Dow booked a pretax gain of $816 million. The business brought Ziploc, Saran, Scrubbing Bubbles and fantastik to SC Johnson in a single transaction. Only the year is recorded here.

Value
$1.2bn
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded

Full ownership and deal history →

SC Johnson in the global legal-entity registry

The Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation (GLEIF) keeps an open register of legal entities. Each entity reports its own parents. We show it as a cross-check on the ownership recorded on this page, which is built from filings.

Legal entity identifier (LEI)
PH5ZFDENRYXEVLP50443
Registered name
S. C. JOHNSON & SON, INC. (US)
Registration status
Issued · record updated 18 March 2026
Parent
None named: it reports that it has no parent that consolidates its accounts.
Retrieved
· GLEIF record (JSON)

Frequently asked questions

What brands does SC Johnson own?

SC Johnson owns 8 consumer brands tracked here, including Windex, OFF!, Pledge, Raid, Method and Glade.

Is SC Johnson an American company?

Yes. SC Johnson is headquartered in Racine, Wisconsin, United States and was founded in 1886.

Who owns SC Johnson?

SC Johnson is privately held. SC Johnson has been owned and run by five generations of the Johnson family since 1886, when it began selling parquet flooring and then the wax to care for it.

What was SC Johnson's most recent acquisition?

The most recent completed acquisition recorded here is Method on 1 January 2018.

Sources (4) & corrections

Last verified . Every ownership fact above is backed by one of these primary documents. Numbers in brackets in the text refer to this list.

  1. [1] SC Johnson — our products and brands — S. C. Johnson & Son, Inc., Official document; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  2. [2] SC Johnson signs agreement to acquire Method and Ecover — S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc. via PR Newswire, Official press release, published 14 September 2017; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  3. [3] SC Johnson acquisitions - timeline of brands added to the portfolio — S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc., Official document; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  4. [4] The Dow Chemical Company Form 10-K for 1998, note C - sale of DowBrands — SEC EDGAR, SEC Form 10-K, published 24 March 1999; retrieved 16 September 2026.

Report a correction Opens a pre-filled GitHub issue. See our corrections policy.