Brandtree

Who owns Living Proof?

Living Proof is owned by Unilever (the United Kingdom, LSE: ULVR), which acquired the brand on 1 December 2016.[1][2] Living Proof was founded in 2005 in the United States and was independent until 2016.

Evidence: Unilever PLC Annual Report on Form 20-F for 2025, SEC EDGAR, 12 March 2026. Verified from filings; last checked .

Key facts

Current owner
Unilever PLC verified
Owned since
· deal details
Previous owner
Independent (2005–2016)
Owner HQ
🇬🇧 United Kingdom, London
Origin
🇺🇸 United States
Founded
2005
Category
Personal care & beauty › Hair care › Shampoo & conditioner
Parent ticker
LSE: ULVR NYSE: UL AEX: UNA
Trademark registrant
Living Proof, Inc. (USPTO)
Last verified
· 3 sources

About Living Proof

Living Proof is a hair care brand founded in 2005 by scientists associated with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, who applied polymer chemistry developed for other industries to frizz control and volume. Unilever acquired the company in 2016, having previously been an investor.

How often Unilever names Living Proof in its annual report

A plain count of the times the name appears in the text of each annual report, not counting the start of a sentence. A brand that an owner writes about more is usually one it treats as central. The brand is named more often than it was three years earlier.

Annual report filedTimes Living Proof is named
20262
20252
20241

Trademark record for Living Proof

The USPTO record for the Living Proof mark lists Living Proof, Inc. as the owner of record (serial number 85759556). A trademark is often held by a group company rather than the listed parent, so the registrant's name can differ from the owner named above.[3]

Ownership timeline of Living Proof

Owners of Living Proof over 2005 to 2026 Unilever 2016–present Unilever 20052010201520202025
  1. 2016 – present Unilever — acquired 1 December 2016 [1][2] verified

Where Living Proof sits in Unilever

Controlling ownership as of . Brands grouped under the entity that owns them; large groups are collapsed.

Where Living Proof sits in Unilever Tree of 53 brands under Unilever. Unilever Living Proof Axe Bango Brut Cif Clear and 47 more

Open the full Unilever ownership tree →

See the full Unilever brand portfolio (53) →

Other brands owned by Unilever

Unilever controls 53 brands on Brandtree, 34 of them in personal care & beauty.

Also in personal care & beauty

All Unilever brands →

Other brands in shampoo & conditioner, and who owns them

Unilever has more brands in shampoo & conditioner on Brandtree than any other owner: 7 of 56.

BrandOwnerOwner based in
Alpist Aekyung 🇰🇷 South Korea
Brillare Emami 🇮🇳 India
Garnier L'Oréal 🇫🇷 France
Aujua Milbon 🇯🇵 Japan
Movit Movit 🇺🇬 Uganda
Head & Shoulders Procter & Gamble 🇺🇸 United States
SebiRinse Ego Pharmaceuticals 🇦🇺 Australia
Tío Nacho Genomma Lab 🇲🇽 Mexico

Every brand in shampoo & conditioner and its owner →

About the owner: Unilever

Unilever is a publicly listed company headquartered in London, United Kingdom, founded in 1929. Brandtree records 53 brands under its control, and it is listed as LSE: ULVR, NYSE: UL and AEX: UNA.

Unilever is a British consumer goods company formed in 1929 by the merger of Dutch margarine producer Margarine Unie and British soap maker Lever Brothers. It reports through four business groups: Beauty & Wellbeing, Personal Care, Home Care and Foods. Its ice cream business was demerged as The Magnum Ice Cream Company in December 2025.

Unilever: full profile, brands and acquisition history →

🇺🇸 Living Proof and other American brands

Brandtree records a controlling owner for 2,549 brands that began in the United States. 478 of them (19%) are now controlled by a company headquartered in another country, Living Proof among them.

All American brands and who owns them →

Deals involving Living Proof

Acquisition closed

Unilever acquires Living Proof

Unilever acquired Living Proof, a hair care company founded by MIT scientists and backed by Jennifer Aniston. The price was not disclosed.

Value
Undisclosed
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded

Frequently asked questions

Who is the parent company of Living Proof?

The parent company of Living Proof is Unilever, a publicly listed company headquartered in the United Kingdom.

Is Living Proof American or British?

Living Proof originated in the United States in 2005, but it is owned today by Unilever, which is headquartered in the United Kingdom. So Living Proof is an American-origin brand under British ownership.

When did Unilever buy Living Proof?

Unilever completed its acquisition of Living Proof on 1 December 2016, after announcing the deal on 1 December 2016. The price was not disclosed.

Who owned Living Proof before Unilever?

Living Proof was an independent company from its founding in 2005 until Unilever acquired it in 2016.

Is Living Proof still owned by Unilever?

Yes. As of 26 September 2026, Living Proof is still owned by Unilever. The ownership record was last checked against primary sources on that date.

Sources (3) & corrections

Last verified . Every ownership fact above is backed by one of these primary documents. Numbers in brackets in the text refer to this list.

  1. [1] Unilever PLC Annual Report on Form 20-F for 2025 — SEC EDGAR, SEC Form 20-F, published 12 March 2026; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  2. [2] Unilever PLC Annual Report and Accounts — acquisitions — Unilever PLC, Annual report; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  3. [3] USPTO: LIVING PROOF, serial 85759556, registration 4317253 — United States Patent and Trademark Office, Trademark registry; retrieved 26 September 2026.

Report a correction Opens a pre-filled GitHub issue. See our corrections policy.